On the 12th Day of Quintmas, There Are Twelve Triple Crown Winners™

Posted by Jazzy Morgan on Tue, Dec 12, 2017 @ 13:00 PM

Happy 12th Day of Quintmas and Triple Crown™ Tuesday! 

Clubhouse Courtyard Premium Package

Becoming a Triple Crown™ winner is the greatest honor every horse racing team strives to achieve. What many don’t realize is how rare it is for a horse to mark his name in history as a Triple Crown™ winner, with only 12 horses in history managing to succeed.

Over the past six months we have broken down each Triple Crown™ winner, their jockey's and their careers. The biggest thing we've learned throughout this series so far, is that a Triple Crown™ winner can come where you least expect it!

Sir Barton

Known as the American Triple Crown, Sir Barton was crowned the first Triple Crown™ winner in 1919 and named horse of the year that very same year. 

Gallant Fox

Maintaining a winning career throughout 1930, including being crowned a Triple Crown™ winner, Gallant Fox would later described as a “super horse” and “horse of the year.”


As the son of the 1930 Triple Crown™ winner, Gallant Fox, he made his father proud by becoming a Triple Crown™ winner himself in 1935.

War Admiral

Stumbling through the gate, War Admiral fought through injury during the last leg of the Triple Crown™ and set a new track record at the time, naming him the fourth winner of the Triple Crown™ in 1937.


With a habit of “bearing out”, which means moving towards the middle of the racetrack, Whirlaway wore a full-cup blinker with a tiny hole in the center. This gave him a narrow field of vision that led him to become the fifth Triple Crown™ winner in 1941.

Count Fleet

Racing a similar story to the 1937 Triple Crown winner, Count Fleet ignored a severe ankle injury during the Belmont Stakes and powered through to win by a record setting 25 lengths in 1943.

Triple Crown Winners

Stay tuned for the next six months as we unravel the stories behind the last six Triple Crown winners!

Assault (1946), Citation (1948), Secretariat (1973), Seattle Slew(1977), Affirmed (1978), and American Pharoah (2015).

Attend the First Leg of the Triple Crown at the 2018 Kentucky Derby®

Providing tickets directly from Churchill Downs®, you can be sure your tickets are the best you can get with Derby Experiences. Your weekend will be complete with an variety of seating options, hospitality venues, accommodation locations located throughout Louisville, and exclusive party access. Don’t wait! Click below and start planning your trip with Derby Experiences, today.

2018 Kentucky Derby Seating

Topics: Churchill Downs, Triple Crown, Kentucky Derby 2018

Subscribe to Our Blog

About the Bloggers

Kristen Doolan

Kristen Doolan was born and raised a Florida State Seminole. Making her way from Florida to North Carolina, Kristen achieved her B.S. in Business Adminstration, Marketing at The University of North Carolina Wilmington. She is an avid traveler, college football addict, beach bum and loves spending time with her family and friends. 

Jazzy Morgan

Jazzy Morgan is originally from London, England and a die-hard Manchester United Fan. She grew up in Connecticut and made the move down south in 2011 where she attended Winthrop University and received her B.S. in Family & Consumer Sciences and a minor in Marketing. Jazzy enjoys traveling, working out, reading her monthly Vogue & Cosmo and keeping up with fashion trends.